PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem on Dual Booting Windows XP and Ubuntu

varunit
August 28th, 2009, 01:45 AM
Hello Guys... I have a problem.

First i installed windows followed by ubuntu 9.04
Everything is working fine and i am also able to dual boot.
Now for some reasons i have reinstalled XP hoping that i can still dual boot XP and Ubuntu.
But Now the entries for Ubuntu in MBR do not appear. Only Windows XP boots..

What happened to ubuntu?? I still have all the files and necessary pertiotions for ubuntu. I have not deleted anything yet??

Do i have delete those partitions and reinstall ubuntu

Can anyone help me with the situation???:confused:

Thank you in advance:)

KinKiac
August 28th, 2009, 01:49 AM
I may be wrong as I am a bit of a noob, but it sounds to me like you may have to re-install Grub. In doing so it should pick up any OS's you have, and allow you to boot to whatever. Windows probably overwrote your MBR.

raymondh
August 28th, 2009, 02:16 AM
Hello Guys... I have a problem.

First i installed windows followed by ubuntu 9.04
Everything is working fine and i am also able to dual boot.
Now for some reasons i have reinstalled XP hoping that i can still dual boot XP and Ubuntu.
But Now the entries for Ubuntu in MBR do not appear. Only Windows XP boots..

What happened to ubuntu?? I still have all the files and necessary pertiotions for ubuntu. I have not deleted anything yet??

Do i have delete those partitions and reinstall ubuntu

Can anyone help me with the situation???:confused:

Thank you in advance:)

Did you (by accident) install/reformat over your ubuntu install?

Boot into the liveCD and access a terminal (applications > accessories) to type and post back output of:

sudo fdisk -l

small L, not I nor 1.

If ubuntu is still there, you may try to re-install GRUB because XP's install would've written over the MBR. Here's a tutorial:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=224351

If Ubuntu is not there, time to re-install Ubuntu ;)