PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] WUBI install confusion

Nibblers
August 27th, 2009, 11:44 PM
Hi everyone

I used WUBI to install ubuntu 9.04 within the Windows environment, mainly because I wanted a dual boot option and my notebook CDROM is not working right now.

As this is my first time with ubuntu so I assumed the install went ok. I had 2 partitions (C:/D) I configured WUBI to install on D: (35Gb free) with a default install. Re-booted into ubuntu from the dual boot option and the auto install went through the configuration steps but then stops with a "partition too small" error message.

The free space on the partition is obviously more than is required so how do I solve the partition size problem? Or should I be starting ubuntu within the Windows environment rather than using the dual boot option - if this is the case how do you start ubuntu within Windows?

Thanks in advance for any help with this.

footnote
- I can start the demo version via the dual boot and everything works fine however I can't save any session changes

raymondh
August 28th, 2009, 02:31 AM
footnote
- I can start the demo version via the dual boot and everything works fine however I can't save any session changes

In demo mode, can you access a terminal (applications > accessories) and type

df -h

kindly post back its' output.

garvinrick4
August 28th, 2009, 04:49 AM
Install's in folder in windows like an app. install in same partition as boot.
C: Just pick the size at least 8 or so I use 25.

It uses the DOS GRUB cannot make mistake with WUBI it will configure everything
for you, you just pick the size a password and install.

Nibblers
August 28th, 2009, 08:47 AM
raymondhenson - I'll do that

garvinrick4 thanks, could a clue here! I installed on the D: partition rather than C: