PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ia64/amd64



bootdoc
August 27th, 2009, 05:11 PM
Will the amd64 install on Ia64?

NoaHall
August 27th, 2009, 05:14 PM
Yes. I think so, it's just called amd64 because they made 64 first - but I'm not sure.

jerome1232
August 27th, 2009, 05:14 PM
I don't believe so, amd64 is a 32bit/64bit hybrid mutant arch, ia64 is a through and through 64 bit arch.

They are two different and distinct architectures.

edit: AMD64 will however install on Intel 64, they are both in fact amd64 or x86_64.

tenghoward
August 27th, 2009, 06:52 PM
IA64 and AMD64 are TOTALLY different architectures.

IA64 is only for your computer if your computer's CPU is Intel Itanium series.

If not install AMD64 version on your computer.

And no, Intel Itanium CANNOT handle AMD64.

LowSky
August 27th, 2009, 07:12 PM
you actually have a Intel Itanium server?


AMD64 will install on all current "normal" intel desktop chips, like the Core 2 Duo, Pentium 4(later models) or Pentium D, and Core Duo.

terabyte1
August 27th, 2009, 08:07 PM
If you have a Dual-Core, Quad-Core, Intel Pentium D or AMD64 Processor, your computer will work in either 32-bit or 64-bit architectures.

Cheers!

terabyte1:guitar:

BackwardsDown
August 27th, 2009, 09:54 PM
If you have a Dual-Core, Quad-Core, Intel Pentium D or AMD64 Processor, your computer will work in either 32-bit or 64-bit architectures.

As far as I know my Dual-Core wont run Ia64 if that is what you mean.

bootdoc
August 28th, 2009, 02:30 AM
a friend of mine has quad core itanium 64 processor and wants to install ubuntu but I don't know what image to recommend. I don't think Ia64 is fully supported yet.

jerome1232
August 28th, 2009, 02:37 AM
Debian Works on IA64

http://www.debian.org/ports/ia64/

Ubuntu seems to have a server version (no gui) for IA64, I'm not sure if the Gnome DE is available for it and what packages have been ported and etc but here is the link.

http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ports/releases/hardy/release/