PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual boot mishap... how to fix?

megamonk
August 27th, 2009, 04:11 PM
i have 2 hard disk...

1 120gb hdd which is divided into 2 partitions. windows xp installed.
1 20gb hdd free.

im still a newbie at installing ubuntu so while installing i though that i was installing on the 20 gb hdd because it was the one i highlighted during install. installion was finished only to find out that the ubuntu installation was not on 20gb but on the first partition of the 120gb. what makes it even worst is that the filesystem is only 2gb in size and only has 155mb space left.

is there any way to move the ubuntu intallation to the 20gb hdd and use that hdd whole? i really dont know how to uninstall ubuntu from the 120 hdd without formatting it.

stlsaint
August 27th, 2009, 04:23 PM
just to be sure...you have a 20gb hdd connected internally to the system? and thats what you want to put ubuntu on...but you installed it on another system over a windows(xp) install...now you want ubuntu gone? but without formatting it...i hope you didnt write ubuntu over xp but im confused on how you wrote to a [artition with xp on it? please give clarification if im wrong in my assumptions!

megamonk
August 27th, 2009, 04:40 PM
just to be sure...you have a 20gb hdd connected internally to the system? and thats what you want to put ubuntu on...but you installed it on another system over a windows(xp) install...now you want ubuntu gone? but without formatting it...i hope you didnt write ubuntu over xp but im confused on how you wrote to a [artition with xp on it? please give clarification if im wrong in my assumptions!

i have 2 hdd.

a. 120gb with 2 partitions. windows is installed here.
b. 20gb empty. this is where i want to put ubuntu..