PDA

View Full Version : How to answer distro snobs (in a friendly way!)

joseftu
February 3rd, 2006, 02:37 AM
So, here's what I'm hearing on another forum:

(In reference to the news about Google using a Ubuntu-based distro) Are you sh*tting me? You know, with all these supposed geniuses working for Google, they chose one of the worst builds to mimic and go from? Why? Because of that silly Benniton Peacenik ad crap?!?

Ubuntu is a hog, horrible dist.

Red Hat would have been a lot better, and I hate Red Hat. Ubuntu is just THAT much worse.

You obviously didn't try Vector Linux.

Ubuntu is geared so much to the noob that you can't really learn what Linux is all about. Many of the "standard" linux features are locked down to where you have to jump through hoops in order to do something that should be rather simple.

Now, I generally like and respect these guys, and they're way, way more experienced than I am. I'm a total newbie with Ubuntu--but so far I like it a lot--and it works on my machines. I told them that, but I'm still getting the same lines.

I like what I have. I'm willing to try other distros (I've tried Red Hat in the past, and pretty much all the live CD versions I can find of other distros). It's interesting, when I have time, but Ubuntu really seems like the one that's worth sticking with. I don't care a whole lot if that makes me seem like a n00b, but I'm wondering if that really is a common impression of this distro?

So what do you think? Is it worth answering them? Are there any good answers? Is this kind of attitude common in the larger Linux community?

ardchoille
February 3rd, 2006, 02:46 AM