PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] usb controller

beacon
August 26th, 2009, 11:22 AM
I have been literally months trying to get ubuntu to boot from a USB flash drive. Most recently I have been trying with Easy Peasy. I no sooner sort out one problem than another arises. I haven't been able to get the create startup disk to copy, as it won't recognise a flash disk when it is in the drive. I noticed on this occasion a symbol, which when I clicked on it, stated that USB controller is disabled. That may have been the problem all along, but how do I enable it? I am still an amateur so hope it isn't too complicated. Thanks

tommcd
August 26th, 2009, 12:01 PM
... I noticed on this occasion a symbol, which when I clicked on it, stated that USB controller is disabled. That may have been the problem all along, but how do I enable it? I am still an amateur so hope it isn't too complicated. Thanks
Is the USB controller enabled in the computer's BIOS?
Assuming usb is not disabled in the BIOS, then:
Type lspci -v in the terminal. You should see entries in lspci about your computer's usb controllers.

Assuming lspci lists your computer's usb controllers, then plug in the usb drive, and then type lsusb in the terminal. You should see info indicating that the usb drive has been detected.

If there is no info about the drive in lsusb, then unplug the drive, and type:

sudo dmesg -c
in the terminal. This will clear the kernel's boot messages. Next, plug in your usb drive, then type dmesg in the terminal. You should see something there about your usb drive being detected.

If usb is enabled in the BIOS, and if there is nothing useful in lspci, lsusb, and dmesg, then Ubuntu is not detecting your computer's usb controller, and / or the usb drive you are using. This is highly unlikely though.
Post the output of the commands I listed (lspci, lsusb, dmesg) if you are not sure.

beacon
August 26th, 2009, 12:29 PM