PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Disk Full - now what?

ttocScott
August 26th, 2009, 07:29 AM
Hello. I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu. I had a 5 gig / partition, which I thought would be enough. However, I got carried away with all the free apps, and in particular I was trying to install Kubuntu on top of regular Ubuntu to check it out. In the middle of the install, it bombed out because the / partition filled up. I then changed the partitions around using the Partition Editor off the install disk (I thought that would be safer than using the HDD version) so I now have 15 gigs on the / partition.

Question: I'm not sure what happened to all the stuff I downloaded and was in the middle of installing previously. Is there a way to pick up on that installation, or get it going again without downloading everything again? I'm afraid if I use 'sudo apt-get kubuntu-desktop' again, it will download all the apps again and not overwrite the previous download, so I'll have orphaned original stuff - not to mention the install had started, so I don't know what affect that may have. Although, the system still seems to be working just fine.

I guess a major part of my problem is I don't understand the file system and organization in Linux. I'm very new to this, so I don't know what goes where, folder-wise... like, /bin, /mnt, etc. In *******, had an installation failed, it would probably have rolled back the install, but I am pretty sure Kubuntu just bombed when the disk got full.

Thanks for any help.

Regards,
Scott

Cybie257
August 26th, 2009, 07:42 AM