PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Neophyte vrs Hybrid RAID

Harry Voyager
August 26th, 2009, 06:30 AM
So, I'm completely new to Linux, and I'm attempting to install a copy of Ubuntu 9.04 as the 2nd operating system for an XP-Linux dual boot. Unfortunately, it turns out that I have a problematic hardware.

The current system is a Core 2 Duo, in a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P. The video card is an EVGA GeForce 880 GTX (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130072). XP is installed on a Hybrid RAID 0 on the ICH10R controller. I want to install 64 bit Ubuntu on a third sata hard drive currently plugged into the Gigabyte RAID controller, which is currently in ACHI mode in the BIOS, without nuking my XP, and preferably with some degree of mutual access between both.

Any suggestions on how I go about doing this?

Harry Voyager

ronparent
August 26th, 2009, 02:21 PM
You don't say if the third disk you plugged in is incorporated into a raid array thru bios. If it is, you probably have to use the alternate cd since the standard live cd does not automatically have raid support. If the sata port you plugged into is not configured as a raid then you would be able to do a normal (non raid) install.

Be aware that raid drives will show up as unallocated space if you try to install from the live cd. If you do not install software ubuntu requires to recognize the raid you can easily wipe out the raid0 array and all its data. The raid you are using incidently is commonly refered to a 'fakeraid' within the ubuntu community. The following reference tells you how you can deal with it to install to raid: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto

Harry Voyager
August 26th, 2009, 03:26 PM