PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation hangs after 2 minutes

electrostaticman
August 25th, 2009, 12:57 PM
Fresh Ubunbu 9.04 install, right from the CD. I select language (English), select "Install Ubuntu", and after a minute or two it just hangs. CD stops spinning and computer needs a powerdown.

Lots of room on the hard disk, the CD image check passes as does the memory test (i've tried these two options on the CD).

What gives? This is my first attempt at Ubuntu and I was hoping for a more pleasant experience :)

giftedwon
August 25th, 2009, 02:10 PM
what program did you use to make the CD?

try to burn it at a slower speed.. The same thing happened to be before

presence1960
August 25th, 2009, 02:55 PM
Did you MD5SUM (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM) the downloaded iso?
Did you burn it as an image to CD at no more than 4x speed? if your burning software will not allow you to choose 4x for burn speed see here (https://help.ubuntu.com/9.04/switching/installing-burning.html).
If the same thing happens look at boot options (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions) (F4 & F6)

If that fails try the alternate text based installer (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/downloadmirrors#alternate)

electrostaticman
August 25th, 2009, 02:55 PM
what program did you use to make the CD?

try to burn it at a slower speed.. The same thing happened to be before

I'll give it a shot -- although the CD integrity check passed, so I'm not getting my hopes up :)

dE_logics
August 25th, 2009, 03:03 PM
You should verify the downloaded content...CD integrity and downloaded content verification are different things.

Do that md5 check with of the downloaded image.

Once I downloaded a Sabayon Linux image; the DVD burnt perfectly, and it's integrity was good, but it turned out that the image file failed the md5checksum.

Also we would like to know your hardware...specially your graphs chip.

presence1960
August 25th, 2009, 03:07 PM