PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to shrink my Vista partition for dual boot?

TraBruno
August 25th, 2009, 03:52 AM
Hello,

I'm running Vista 32 bit now on my laptop, but would like to make it dual boot with ubuntu. I found a tutorial that made it look really simple, but I'm stuck at the first step. Computer manager doesn't let me shrink my C: drive, but I read that's natural since it's a lousy partitioning application. I tried with Paragon though and here I get a warning I shouldn't be shrinking in the middle of the hard drive to avoid boot problems. There are 2 partitions now: BOOT (C:/) that has 118 GB NTFS, and RECOVER (D:/) that has 30 GB FAT. There is 40 GB free space on C:/ but this space seems to be locked in between the two partitions.
Are ther any suggestions to make this work? I'm not very good with computers when I'm stuck at a command prompt so it would be nice to be able to avoid that situation.

Another thing: since I didn't get to that stage yet, I'm not entirely sure, but I think paragon formats a partition by default in NTFS, shouldn't that be a problem if you want to use it for ubuntu?

Some basic information about these operations would be really nice.

Thanks in advance folks!
TraBruno

garvinrick4
August 25th, 2009, 04:21 AM
Just use wubi.com it will ask you the size of folder for Ubuntu that you want to give it. At least 10 or so to be comfortable if you
have a lot space open use more. More the merrier. Takes a while to
download and it will put a nice little folder in C: the size you wanted. You can use all files from Windows in Linux. Places, file system, host, users, your windows folders. Drag and drop do anything
you want and use your music, videos, documents whatever in Ubuntu. Sets up your grub for you. It is about the simplest thing there is
for dual boot.

raymondh
August 25th, 2009, 05:23 AM
Hello and welcome TraBruno,