PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Sound? OFF! - Yes, no sound.

catnip_X07
August 24th, 2009, 04:23 AM
Been working on a sound problem, as I am new to welcoming Linux. Followed a lot of guides and so far no luck. Sound is HDMI from card1 on an integrated motherboard. (card 1 is HDMI ; card 0 is normal sound through sound jacks?)

Here is the oddities of the problem:
When I boot up and when loading screen appears, I believe I have sound as my audio receiver is picking up a signal (via HDMI). Once the desktop appears, sound signal is lost. I can test the sound card and I hear a tone, which makes me believe sound is working or at least a connection is established. I can use rythmbox and hear sound through that. Any other application, and no sound at all. IF I manually select an audio driver in an application (SMPLAYER), I can get sound although video quality is a bit subpar.

Here is what I think is happening, and maybe someone can concur. Whenever the desktop is loaded after booting, somehow card 0 is being loaded instead of card 1. When I manually tell an application what to use, such as guiding the application to use a sound driver, is when sound works.

If my assumption is correct on the sound problem, is there anyway to disable the system from loading card 0 and making card 1 the default sound source? If so, HOW? IF this is not my problem, what is my problem and how do I correct?

Thank you

Cresho
August 24th, 2009, 04:26 AM
yes there is but you need to tell us what operating system you are using

catnip_X07
August 24th, 2009, 04:52 PM
The os is ubuntu 9.04

maximilion
August 24th, 2009, 05:03 PM
Do you have a volume control icon in your task bar? If so, double-click it and check the sliders. If not, right-click the task bar and add one.

If the problem is only playing .mp3 / no sound in youtube clips, it's a missing codec problem. I have a hard time believing the installer wouldn't get flash-nonfree for your browser automatically, but if so get it with Synaptic.