PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Kopete doesnt work



pinkpinkpinkpanther
August 23rd, 2009, 02:55 PM
Hi to all,

Recently installed ubuntu 9.04 on my new hp elitebook 6930p laptop; serious problem using IMs; I try to use Kopete for my yahoo messenger; but cannot connect through my added id!
how can I fix it? or u suggest to try pidgin?

I dont want to return back to windows! help plz!

ajgreeny
August 23rd, 2009, 03:15 PM
Why use kopete when you have ubuntu with pidgin already installed? I admit that I have never looked at kopete, so don't know if it has extra facilities that pidgin does not have, but even though there were problems with pidgin working with yahoo, there have been updates or other ways to get round that difficulty.

Yes, go with pidgin, in my opinion.

pinkpinkpinkpanther
August 23rd, 2009, 04:49 PM
I dont have pidgin installed; I just browsed in forum pages and saw advices to use something called pidgin. How can I install it? Is it free?

ajgreeny
August 23rd, 2009, 10:53 PM
Pidgin should be installed by default, I think, but if not simply run
sudo apt-get install pidgin in terminal or search for it in synaptic.

Are you sure it's not in your Applications > Internet menu. If not try
pidgin in terminal and see what error message appears.

pinkpinkpinkpanther
August 24th, 2009, 10:09 PM
When I run pidgin command it said that it's not installed... I installed it, but is there cam utilities in pidgin? kopete had smthing for this.

pinkpinkpinkpanther
August 24th, 2009, 10:33 PM
Apparently pidgin doesn't work correctly; I send pm but I don't get off msg!