PDA

View Full Version : Good Guides for Building a PC

intense.ego
August 22nd, 2009, 11:34 PM
Does anyone know of a good guide to building a PC? I am a first time builder and will need a very detailed explanation, so if anyone knows a guide, please link.
Thanks
intense.ego

Skripka
August 22nd, 2009, 11:48 PM
Rule #1, ground yourself early and often

Rule #2, read the instructions that come with your hardware (RTFM)

Rule#3, All connectors are keyed and only lock together in one orientation-the exception being front panel LEDs

Rule #4, DO NOT leave your cabling like a rats' next. Twenty ADORABLE kittens SCREAM in AGONY everytime someone leaves their cables looking like a rodents' nest.

Rule #5, Do NOT be in a hurry. Work slowly and carefully, triple check your work against instructions.

Warpnow
August 23rd, 2009, 12:01 AM
Read your motherboard manual cover to cover. Every aspect of building your PC is covered in most of them. Its your go to guide. It will explain each step in detail with diagrams.

Post Monkeh
August 23rd, 2009, 12:25 AM
read your motherboard manual and take your time. it really is all pretty self explanitory.

do you have a pc at the minute? my advice would be to get all the stuff you want, then open your current pc and have a look and see where the memory is, where the processor is, where the drives plug into etc.

NovaAesa
August 23rd, 2009, 01:00 AM
Be careful if you plan on installing cold cathode lights. Don't try to plug them in when the step up transformer is already turned on! (I made this mistake once, I ended up with two tiny charred spots on my right hand and one hell of a fright).

Warpnow
August 23rd, 2009, 01:02 AM
Be careful if you plan on installing cold cathode lights. Don't try to plug them in when the step up transformer is already turned on! (I made this mistake once, I ended up with two tiny charred spots on my right hand and one hell of a fright).

Does it make me evil if I started laughing at the word transformer?