PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "Only one software management tool..." error

Aldentron
August 22nd, 2009, 07:41 PM
I just got my new laptop today and it runs Ubuntu, so I am very new to this OS. I am trying to install the Adobe Flash Player 10, i downloaded the .deb file and saved it to my desktop. upon trying to install it with Package Installer, i get an error message that says "Only one software management tool is allowed to run at the same time, please close other application e.g. 'Update Manager,' 'aptitude' or 'Synaptic' first."
i am not running any of these applications and do not know how to close them, if they are indeed running. please help?

stlsaint
August 22nd, 2009, 07:44 PM
do a reboot and when you get to your desktop dont open anything except add/remove or synaptic and try again!!

Aldentron
August 22nd, 2009, 07:59 PM
add/remove does not have flash player, and when i run synaptic it gives me an error "E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report."

0faber
August 22nd, 2009, 08:07 PM
Flash Player 10 from Adobe has it's own installer. You probably need to do this over. Down load it. Select "save" -- not the default "install..." Close Firefox (it can't install the plug-in while it's running. Then double click the Flash-Player box icon on your desktop. It should install from there.

If that's what you just did, forgive me.

Since you're new, I'll add: This not the usual way to install software in Ubuntu. Most of what you need will be in the Ubuntu repositories, and you can get it through "Add Remove" under "Applications" or "Synaptic Package Manager" under "System > Administration." But in this case, the version of Flash in the repositories isn't current, so you really do have to get it directly from Adobe's website (and go through some extra riggamaroll you usually don't have to bother with).

Hope this helps.

Aldentron
August 22nd, 2009, 08:19 PM