PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help getting windows-ubuntu dual boot

adam93
August 21st, 2009, 07:04 PM
So, I read somewhere that you should install ubuntu first because it will be quicker if it's on the outside of the hard drive, and then to install windows after. So, apparently it's hard/impossible to create a windows partition from ubuntu (???) without deleting stuff. So what I would like to do is back up ALL of my ubuntu partition so I can install windows, then ubuntu but still have ubuntu just how I left it. I would like to back it up to my 8gb usb flash drive, can anyone help???
I've only used 3gb of memory (I just installed ubuntu a couple of weeks ago), so there is no memory space issue here.
Or, what would be even better is if someone could tell me how to create a windows partition from my installed ubuntu OS without damaging anything. That would be much more preferred than backing up then restoring.
If you haven't guessed, I'm new to ubuntu.

I know this is a mouthful, but could someone help please? It would be greatly appreciated, I hate windows. I will need it on occasion unfortunately though =[

waltmanno
August 21st, 2009, 08:07 PM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot

This should help you out. Let me know if this works.

Herman
August 21st, 2009, 09:28 PM
So, I read somewhere that you should install ubuntu first because it will be quicker if it's on the outside of the hard drive, and then to install windows after. Yes, I have read that too, there might be some truth in it, but it's not probably a big enough difference for most people to notice unless we take measurements by timing the transfer rates of large files. For small files it probably doesn't matter because most hard disks have a small 'cache' memory. The cache memory is a space where incoming data can wait (like a waiting room for data) until the hard disks's read/write heads catch up. So most of the time you won't notice much difference.