PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Atheros ar5007 quesiton

zmij
August 19th, 2009, 11:29 PM
I'm having trouble connecting my HP dv6000 to the internet. I just installed ubuntu 8.04 and I'm dual booting with vista. The wireless works perfect in vista but I'm getting no where in ubuntu.

I've been searching all over the internet, including this site, but everything I'm supposed to download is 404d (several years old).

Card: Atheros AR5007
I type in... lspci | grep "Ethernet"
and i get... 00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet (rev a2)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)

When I type in sudo apt-get update i just get "could not resolve us.archive.ubuntu.com" errors

Im brand new to Linux, and I know Atheros cards are a pain. Any help on connecting to the internets?

zmij
August 20th, 2009, 01:45 AM
also, I'm not sure how i go about updating or downloading anything without being connected to the internet?

zmij
August 20th, 2009, 06:22 PM
hmmmm

bobtfish
August 20th, 2009, 07:01 PM
Well you should be able to get on the Internet if you used a normal wired connection. Anyway, I have the same wireless card, and I use the ath5k (was enabled from default Ubuntu installation) driver (I had trouble with ath_hal and ath_pci before). Try the command "lsmod | grep ath" (without the "s). The lsmod lists loaded drivers and such. My results are:

chris@chris-laptop:~$ lsmod | grep ath
Module Size Used by //added this back in for clarity
ath5k 107520 0
mac80211 217592 1 ath5k
led_class 12036 1 ath5k
cfg80211 38288 2 ath5k,mac80211

zmij
August 21st, 2009, 05:18 PM