PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Booting Ubuntu and Windows on separate hard drives

martini1179
August 19th, 2009, 03:50 PM
I'm a relative Linux noob.

Restating the subject, I want to dual boot Ubuntu and Vista (for the games), and I'd like to place each OS on its own hard drive instead of just putting them on seperate partitions. I've already installed Ubuntu on one of the drives, and as soon as I wipe the other, I plan on installing Vista.

Since they will be on separate drives, will I have any conflicts with the Linux/Windows bootloaders after I re-setup GRUB after installing Windows?

Bucky Ball
August 19th, 2009, 03:57 PM
If you haven't done much on Ubuntu yet, you might want to install Vista first and then let Ubuntu pick it up when it installs second. It is a darn sight easier. The grub will probably setup automatically that way. Installing Windows second you will probably need to set the grub menu up manually and map the drive/partition that Vista is on (as the drive Ubuntu is on is probably the first one).

Something to remember: Windows (any flavour) must be on a Primary Partition (Ubuntu doesn't care) on the FIRST drive to be co-operative. When you install Vista it will probably attempt to change the drive order from what you have at the moment so keep your eyes open and take note of what is where before you start. Quick translation. Ubuntu uses sd? and windows hd?, as in:

hd0 = sda = first hard drive. Windows consider zero (0) to be one and starts counting from zero. Ubuntu starts from one (1).

0 = 1, a = 1 so first hard drive. With that in mind:

For Windows, (hd0,0) = first drive, first partition = sda1 for Ubuntu (sda=first drive, sda1=first partition).

Hope that makes sense and helps a bit. You will probably need to map the drive and will need some understanding of these concepts to do it. :)

presence1960
August 19th, 2009, 04:08 PM