PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot Installation

masthijohna
August 18th, 2009, 05:07 PM
Hi,
I'm new to Ubuntu.I tried to intall ubuntu 9.04 dual boot with Xp but at the end of the installation , in the import list there wasn't any versions(XP) to import.But when i installed ubuntu 9.04 in another machine dual boot with XP , XP was in the import list.If i ignore it and go forward will XP be there without any errors? How can install Dual boot correctly?

jacklinux
August 18th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Do you mean the option to boot XP isn't showing on the bootup?

killersla
August 18th, 2009, 05:12 PM
i have used geparted for all my formatting and partioning. I think the best thing to do would be to download geparted make a bootbale cd and create a new partition on your drive. Then from windows install it onto the new drive restart and you will be givin the option of xp or ubuntu.

Well that worked well for me anyway.

regards

Killersla

jacklinux
August 18th, 2009, 05:13 PM
i have used geparted for all my formatting and partioning. I think the best thing to do would be to download geparted make a bootbale cd and create a new partition on your drive. Then from windows install it onto the new drive restart and you will be givin the option of xp or ubuntu.

Well that worked well for me anyway.

regards

Killersla
Or you could use Wubi installer in windows.

anung524
August 18th, 2009, 05:22 PM
are you sure you really have 2 partitions before installing ubuntu next to the xp?

killersla
August 18th, 2009, 05:25 PM
are you sure you really have 2 partitions before installing ubuntu next to the xp?

If you want a dual boot system then i believe the answer is yes. You need 2 partitions with the 2 different os so your pc will give you the option to boot from either xp or ubuntu.

presence1960
August 18th, 2009, 05:31 PM