PDA

View Full Version : dual boot with vista - where to install grub?

alpage2
August 18th, 2009, 03:37 PM
I have dual booted with XP before, but this is my first attempt to dual boot with a pre-installed version of vista, on a recent Dell laptop, and the partitions are different. I seem to have:

/dev/sda1 125.5 MB
/dev/sda2 10.0 GB - corresponding to the D: drive, containing the factory restore files
/dev/sda3 138.9 GB - corresponding to the C: drive, and labelled by the ubuntu disk partitioner as Windows Vista (loader)

Where is the correct place to install grub, to provide me with a dual boot menu on start-up.

I am assuming that the tiny first partition is the vista boot loader? I am just looking for reassurance that installing grup there will still permit grub to recognise the vista partiton, and still be able to boot vista without any unexpected problems.

Many thanks in anticipation.
Alan

Penguin Guy
August 18th, 2009, 03:49 PM
As a rule; never delete something if you're not sure what it is. Please run sudo fdisk -l and post back the results. Also if you look in Places -> 125MB Media it should show you the contents of your 125MB partition.

jacklinux
August 18th, 2009, 04:29 PM
As a rule; never delete something if you're not sure what it is. Please run sudo fdisk -l and post back the results. Also if you look in Places -> 125MB Media it should show you the contents of your 125MB partition.

Wouldn't he/she be able to install Via Wubi? then it would more or less be automatic?

Penguin Guy
August 18th, 2009, 04:36 PM
Wouldn't he/she be able to install Via Wubi? then it would more or less be automatic?
Installing via Wubi is another option, but that is a workaround rather than a solution, most people prefer to only use workarounds if no solution can be found. Nonetheless, if the original poster is interested here is a link where they can read more about it (http://wubi-installer.org/).

Arand
August 18th, 2009, 05:27 PM