PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Visual Effects .. Drivers?

oN dRe
August 18th, 2009, 05:33 AM
Hello :)
I'm new to the Ubuntu OS, just installed it today.
Im a complete Windows user, but I decided to try out Linux, because well, I've heard many places that Linux is a MUST.

Anyways, I downloaded Ubuntu 9.04, and installed it on a Virtual Server.
First thing I did after I installed Ubuntu was mess around with Appearence Preferences.

I went into Visual Effects and tried ticking Extra but I got a popup saying it can't find the necessary drivers.

Where can I find them?
Thanks.

j7%<RmUg
August 18th, 2009, 05:43 AM
Do you have a graphics card apart from the one on your motherboard. If you do what card is it?

If you are running ubuntu on a built in graphics card (like intel or something like that) then you may not be able to run desktop effects.

Hope i can help.

oN dRe
August 18th, 2009, 05:48 AM
Ehh.. Yeah, I'm running on an Intel Graphics Card... :(
Now i have another problem, that maybe you can help with lol.

I went into Synaptic Package Manager, and hit "Reload Package Information." under "Edit".

It Gave me some errors:

Failed to fetch cdrom://Ubuntu 9.04 _Jaunty Jackalope_ - Release i386 (20090420.1)/dists/jaunty/main/binary-i386/Packages Please use apt-cdrom to make this CD-ROM recognized by APT. apt-get update cannot be used to add new CD-ROMs
Failed to fetch cdrom://Ubuntu 9.04 _Jaunty Jackalope_ - Release i386 (20090420.1)/dists/jaunty/restricted/binary-i386/Packages Please use apt-cdrom to make this CD-ROM recognized by APT. apt-get update cannot be used to add new CD-ROMs
Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

j7%<RmUg
August 18th, 2009, 06:36 AM
Hmmm well ill need to do a bit of research on my own jaunty machine but im on a useless windows machine at the moment, until i can get to my PC in 2-3 hours here a question:

Are you running the 32 bit or 64 bit version of ubuntu?

oN dRe