PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No PXE boot after LTSP set up

Tobsie
August 17th, 2009, 01:33 PM
Hello to everyone in the forum!

Here is the problem I'm dealing with. I'm really new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I started with installing Ubuntu and really liked it. Now i read about a LTSP and booting your X-Server over the network.

I started off by using the normal To-Do's you find after a google search and everything went pretty smoothly. I installed an LTSP server with the Ubuntu Alternate CD... so I didn't set it up by myself and tested the network boot with my notebook.

It worked fine the first time I started it and i was pretty happy. But it seems as though my Notebook is the only one that can boot to the Ubuntu-"server".

I tried the network boot with another desktop pc i had and it just didn't seem to find the x-server. I'm guessing the network interface card in my desktop computer is to old?

This is what it says when I start the network boot:

-- Intel UNDI, PXE - 2.0 (build 082)
-- SiS900 PXE Boot ROM v1.09 Hook Int 19

Compared to my notebook:

-- Yukon PXE v.3.5.2.3
-- PreBoot exEcution Environment PXE v2.1

Could this be the problem. Those anyone have any tips where I can go from here? Is there any other information I should post to my Problem?

Thanks alot for the help!

Shig
August 17th, 2009, 01:56 PM
Hi

PXE is all you need, what do you get following the PXE message on the desktop?
i.e. what do you get after:

Do you know which DHCP server software you are running on the LTSP server? If so, could you please post the configuration file?
Do you only have DHCP running on the one system (the LTSP server) or could you be picking up DHCP from another device like a DSL router?

Tobsie
August 17th, 2009, 02:22 PM
Hi

Do you know which DHCP server software you are running on the LTSP server?Ehm not really :-) This is the dchp.conf file I found on my server.

#
# Default LTSP dhcpd.conf config file.
#

authoritative;