PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] XP Dual Boot Install Gone Bad

MonkeyChewTobacco
August 17th, 2009, 12:51 PM
First time noob here

First off, sorry if this has been done before - I can see a lot of stuff about dual boot, dedicated disks, etc but nothing to answer this specific question.

I have (or had to be exact) a Win XP PC with twin 200GB hard disks. I want to keep XP on the first disk (disk 0), put Ubuntu 9 on the other (disk 1) and have a grub bootloader.

I ran the install off the CD but found myself totally guessing when it came to the bit about the partitioning. Here's a screenshot of what I went for:

http://www.chesteratlarge.com/large/resources/forumpics/screenshot500.jpg

I'm not sure what happened - I guess disk1 was reformatted as ext3 and had Ubuntu plus apps installed on it.

Problem is, whatever I do I can't see grub and I always boot straight into XP, even if I go into the BIOS on startup and ask it boot from the second (disk 1) drive. Once I'm in XP, I can't see the second disk, except in Device Manager.

What would be my best bet to get from where I am now to where I want to be? I'd prefer not to have start messing with master/slave jumper settings if at all poss.

TIA

dstew
August 17th, 2009, 01:29 PM
It looks like the grub boot loader was not installed during your Ubuntu installation. This may be easy to fix, or it may be hard. If the Ubuntu installation configured grub for booting (created a menu.lst file, which is grub's configuration file) but just did not put the boot loader in, that is easy to fix. Follow the instructions here. (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=224351)

However, if no menu.lst file was created (you will find out if you try the reinstallation method above) you will need to create one. That is more difficult. But, just try the grub reinstallation and see if that works.

presence1960
August 17th, 2009, 06:59 PM