PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with installing a slave drive please

chester112
August 14th, 2009, 02:39 PM
I installed an extra 160Gb drive, configured it through bios as a slave. I Noticed that the
drive was greyed out, so after downloading Partition editor- I tried to follow this tutorial
as best I could : https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingANewHardDrive?highlight=(drive)|(hard)|( new)#Partition%20The%20Disk (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingANewHardDrive?highlight=%28drive%29%7C%2 8hard%29%7C%28new%29#Partition%20The%20Disk)

I assumed the drive was pre formatted, advertised as such but probably with windows. I'm a very confused noob but I think I managed to create an entire partition on the hard drive, (souley to be used for ubuntu). It asked for a password before completing the operation, I typed my usual and rebooted.

The drive now appears under computer in PLACES. I can open it but I don't have permissions to use it (won't let me drag any files to it etc).

Error opening file '/media/disk
Permission denied

Totally lost. Can someone please help? Not sure what I've done wrong :confused:

Thanks

AmerNewbieInDE
August 14th, 2009, 02:53 PM
looks like the file ur trying to copy has the restriction on it... try some files from your home directory, if that is the problem, then use

sudo cp /media/disk /path

there is a space as /media/disk(space)/path

chester112
August 14th, 2009, 06:59 PM
Thanks but no success. Under permissions it states The Permissions of "disk" could
not be determined.

AmerNewbieInDE
August 14th, 2009, 07:29 PM
quick question.. which of the eide cable did you put the slave disk, why not on the disk jumpers state which is master and slave.. if i remember correct, master is on the end and slave is in the middle.

are you running dual boot with windows? i had similiar problems with a windows formated disk. try running

sudo gparted

enter the admin password