PDA

View Full Version : Audio players performance comparison

Athropos
August 14th, 2009, 01:53 PM
Hi all,

Here is an interesting (IMO) comparison between a few audio players:

http://decibel.silent-blade.org/index.php?n=Main.Benchmark

As a programmer, I often hear that scripting languages like Python are not efficient and should always be avoided. Well, from what I can see here, an audio player written in Python can beat Rhythmbox, which is written in C (they both use the GStreamer back end).

Bachstelze
August 14th, 2009, 01:55 PM
As a programmer, I often hear that scripting languages like Python are not efficient and should always be avoided. Well, from what I can see here, an audio player written in Python can beat Rhythmbox, which is written in C (they both use the GStreamer back end).

This only proves that a poorly written C program can be more inefficient than a Python program. ;)

harry2006
August 14th, 2009, 02:08 PM
both are good in their own world!
and i guess python itself is written in C, right?

Bachstelze
August 14th, 2009, 02:14 PM
both are good in their own world!
and i guess python itself is written in C, right?

Yes, which is exactly why it's theoretically slower than C itself. But of course, many other factors come into ply.

Trail
August 14th, 2009, 02:25 PM
Amarok is the clear winner on CPU usage during playback. It uses Xine, so it looks like there is room for improvement in GStreamer.

Hmm interesting. Even though I use the Mplayer backend instead of Xine.

konqui
August 14th, 2009, 02:59 PM
I prefer Amarok!

mrgnash
August 14th, 2009, 03:06 PM
Cmus = 1.0% CPU and 1.9% RAM usage on an IBM Netvista (P4 2.66ghz, 512MB RAM). I think we have a winner :P

RiceMonster
August 14th, 2009, 03:10 PM
Cmus = 1.0% CPU and 1.9% RAM usage on an IBM Netvista (P4 2.66ghz, 512MB RAM). I think we have a winner :P

We'll have to see how mpd compares to that :D. Unfortunatly I can't test it right now as I'm not on my home computer.

DMcA