PDA

View Full Version : I'm creating a little help sheet for first-time ubuntu users

chaosx9
August 13th, 2009, 02:59 PM
Yeah! I found that a lot of tips on the forums was very useful, but i thought I would bring all of the help that you find on the net together into one guide for K/X/Ubuntu users.

I need some help on how to do certain things in K and X, because i've only ever used U. Anyone interested?

tripolitan
August 13th, 2009, 03:34 PM
For most beginners, I think that the installation process is the biggest hurdle with all kinds of different hardware and PC/laptop configurations out there.

As for use, I think that this is a non-issue as most beginners are either migrants from a familiar point-click OS or complete newbies to computers who will struggle, no matter what they use.

The ubuntu forums offer a lot of cases from which one could draw ideas.

bodyharvester
August 13th, 2009, 03:41 PM
ive only ever used Ubuntu, but i wish you luck!

alindgr1
August 13th, 2009, 04:15 PM
I think a guide would be very helpful, perhaps for people who just switched. There are guides and books that will teach you about Linux and Ubuntu, though.

I recently switched from Window$ to Ubuntu, and I love it :P I am not a programmer or computer scientist, but I know them pretty good. The biggest problem I had with switching is trying to figure out "where" everything was. I spent alot of time cruising these forums and still go back to the same ones when I reload a computer.

I guess I would have liked a checklist of places and websites to go to for information.

Finally, I love Ubuntu and will only go back to Windows kicking and screaming.

Screwdriver0815
August 13th, 2009, 04:19 PM
I have Kubuntu. So if you need specific answers, I will answer them, if I can.

Most of the things are similar but some things need to be done different because of the different GUI

chaosx9
August 13th, 2009, 05:32 PM
Thanks screwdriver, i'll definitely be needin your help at certain points