PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing 9.04 plus on a new second drive

ubuntu1sttimer
August 13th, 2009, 05:01 AM
Got a new computer that came with Vista on a 320 GB serial drive. I have a new unused 500 GB serial drive that I want to install as a second drive with 9.04 plus one or both of the video versions, Mythbuntu and Ubuntu-Studio. I am new to serial HDs but assume that the 500 GB drive is not formated.

The question is, after installing the new drive, how do I get 9.04 on the new drive. I understand that I must use the Vista disk management program to set things up. Is that true and what questions do I need the answers for to do this? Ubuntu is going to ask how much space for the different partitions, what do I give 9.04 so that I still have room for the additional Ubuntu version on the second drive. It is possible that I will need to share video data files between the different Ubuntu versions. Can I do this without getting into SAMBA or something like that?

Questions, questions, and more questions! Any ideas or suggestions are welcome.

mikewhatever
August 13th, 2009, 09:47 AM
Got a new computer that came with Vista on a 320 GB serial drive. I have a new unused 500 GB serial drive that I want to install as a second drive with 9.04 plus one or both of the video versions, Mythbuntu and Ubuntu-Studio. I am new to serial HDs but assume that the 500 GB drive is not formated.

The question is, after installing the new drive, how do I get 9.04 on the new drive. I understand that I must use the Vista disk management program to set things up. Is that true and what questions do I need the answers for to do this? Ubuntu is going to ask how much space for the different partitions, what do I give 9.04 so that I still have room for the additional Ubuntu version on the second drive. It is possible that I will need to share video data files between the different Ubuntu versions. Can I do this without getting into SAMBA or something like that?