PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Making a partition for windows in Ubuntu 9.04

wiquiwaqui
August 13th, 2009, 12:03 AM
How do I set up a partition for windows XP with ubuntu 9.04 installed already? Will all my files get deleted? Do I use Gparted? Sorry im a noob.

jmac0101
August 13th, 2009, 12:15 AM
I am also kind of a noob, but I would use Gparted to resize the current partition and place the windows OS on the space you carved out. One thing that might become a problem is that windows might want to start automatically without giving Ubuntu a chance. I ran into this problem before and have always found it easier to install windows first and then Ubuntu (this way the grub bootloader will give you the option of which OS to start in).

I use Ubuntu for all my computing needs, but often for work and school I am forced to use windows (or at least windows products). I chose not to dual boot, instead I use virtual box and install and run windows while still using my Ubuntu.

Check it out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xGI5lOOqMEA&feature=player_embedded

pizza-is-good
August 13th, 2009, 12:19 AM
How do I set up a partition for windows XP with ubuntu 9.04 installed already? Will all my files get deleted? Do I use Gparted? Sorry im a noob.

It's no problem that you are new.

Please give more info on your system. Dual boot? Partitions? Partitions' sizes? All that you can provide. Then it will be easier to help.

Bachstelze
August 13th, 2009, 12:20 AM
It's true that the Windows installer will overwrite GRUB without asking you anything. However, it is possible to reinstall GRUB without reinstalling Ubuntu altogether:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RecoveringUbuntuAfterInstallingWindows

jmac0101
August 13th, 2009, 12:24 AM
It's true that the Windows installer will overwrite GRUB without asking you anything. However, it is possible to reinstall GRUB without reinstalling Ubuntu altogether:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RecoveringUbuntuAfterInstallingWindows