PDA

View Full Version : [xfce] Set Color Depth to 16-Bit

Redmage913
August 12th, 2009, 10:05 PM
Greetings,

I'm trying to decrease the color depth to 16-bit in an attempt to increase the efficiency of one of my wine programs (Starcraft).

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I have little experience with Xubuntu (running 9.04), and have no idea where to look to change this setting.

Thanks,
Redmage913

Diabolis
August 14th, 2009, 03:06 AM
gksudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

In the section "Screen" add the line DefaultDepth 16 so it will look similar to this:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
DefaultDepth 16
EndSection

Then restart the xserver by loging out and then loging in.

Redmage913
August 16th, 2009, 01:53 PM
When I type in the gksudo command, the terminal sits for a few seconds, then it displays another prompt. nothing happens.

Any suggestions?

--Red

4Orbs
August 16th, 2009, 02:13 PM
Since you are using xfce, your text editor is probably mousepad rather than gedit. Just replace gedit with mousepad in the above command.

Redmage913
August 16th, 2009, 02:17 PM
Thank you much!

Quick question though - is gksudo different than sudo? This is the first time someone suggested to me to use the gksudo command.

I just made the edits, and will be restarting the computer to see if it took effect. Is there any way of verifying that it is indeed 16-bit?

--Red

stwschool
August 16th, 2009, 02:21 PM
Gksudo just makes that graphical prompt for your password come up where sudo asks for it in the terminal. Other than that it's the same.

Redmage913
August 16th, 2009, 02:23 PM
Also, if I want to change back to true color, should i set the color depth to 24 or 32? I've read they're virtually the same thing and the last 8 bits are empty or something like that...it was in technical-ese so I didn't quite understand it

4Orbs
August 16th, 2009, 02:27 PM