PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.04 installed - but only smudges on screen upon reboot

GeorgeE
August 12th, 2009, 07:53 PM
Hi

Fresh clean install of 9.04 (done 3x now) - completely wiping out everything on drive.

Dell E1705, native resolution at 1900x1200, 2gig DDR2 Ram, Core 2Duo 1.6mhz, 160gig HDD

Installed the software and its fine when I restart. If, however, I install something like the Compiz advanced screen features, the computer boots up normally until the Ubuntu logo is gone, and then all I get is 3 coded "smudges" on the screen, and it just sits there - never changing.

I tried to "automatically fix graphics problems", as well as all the other fix options but I got nowhere.

Currently, I am running a 2nd copy of 9.04 on the same HDD in order to type this message.

What should I do? I am a code noob noob.

Thanks very much, George

Kaymeerah
August 12th, 2009, 07:54 PM
what is ur graphics card?

GeorgeE
August 12th, 2009, 08:02 PM
Radeon x1400 I believe - its a built in piece.

I am so new to Ubuntu, that I dont yet know how to confirm the model name of the Graphics Card. - thanks for writing!

Having said that - my graphics card is strong enough to run any and all of Windows Aero Vista Premium effects...

GeorgeE
August 12th, 2009, 08:25 PM
Further note: I was going through the screensavers as I started to get into some graphical intense options (past halfway of all screensaver options), my screen suddenly filled with lines and the pc froze.

A simple switch off, and I am back typing this.

I take it the problem is a graphics card driver issue?

How do I fix this? Thank you for any answers.

Mark Phelps
August 13th, 2009, 05:57 PM
Radeon x1400 I believe - its a built in piece.
AMD/ATI dropped support for this card in Catalyst releases newer than 9.3, and the older releases (9.3) and prior which DO support your card will not work with Ubuntu 9.04.