PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu 9.04 + XP dual boot

bishal86
August 12th, 2009, 05:09 PM
First of all i am completely new to ubuntu. i haven't used it before and would like to try it. i want to have a dual boot of XP and ubuntu 9.04. i have a couple of tutorials on how to do that but i am still confused.
i have already partitioned my hard drive. i use C for XP and D,E,F,G for storing other files and documents. i would like to install ubuntu on D.
can anyone help me how to do it?

jonathanysp
August 12th, 2009, 05:14 PM
well first you can just put in the ubuntu liveCD and the select install (don't worry, it will confirm all your settings and preferences before actually writing anything to the hard drive) When you reach the partitioning section, simply select the partition that you want to install ubuntu on. However, the partitions will not be labeled C, D, E or F but something like /dev/sda1 you will have to note down the size of D partition and match it up with the choices you see during installation. Once you have selected it properly, the livecd will automatically detect your windows installation and allow you to dualboot when the installtion is complete

NightwishFan
August 12th, 2009, 05:19 PM
I was going to suggest WUBI, however since you are pre-partitioned a dual boot installation should be easy. It will delete all data on the Ubuntu partition, please note. Ubuntu will be able to access your Windows drives. A dual boot setup will be automatically added to the boot menu.

If you want to 'remove Ubuntu and have only Windows' you will need to blank the partition Ubuntu is on, and repair the Windows boot loader (MBR). Tools are available to do this.

bishal86
August 12th, 2009, 05:30 PM
alrite thanks guys but one more thing D,E,F on my drive have equal spaces so how do i know which one is /dev/sda1?
and will i be able to install network drivers, display drivers for nvidia and realtek sound drivers?