PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Must reboot router to get networking



fido777
August 12th, 2009, 12:42 AM
I have a simple wired network behind a router. One of the computers will not have any network access unless I reboot the router. After that, it connects fine all by itself. My other computers don't have any trouble getting online. Doing a networking restart doesn't bring it up. "sudo dhclient eth0" doesn't bring it up. I use wicd on all my machines but it doesn't solve my problem.

My configs can't be that bad since everything works perfectly after rebooting the router, so I'm at a loss... Running "lshw -C Network" gives me:


*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: MCP67 Ethernet
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: a
bus info: pci@0000:00:0a.0
logical name: eth0
version: a2
serial: 00:19:66:73:04:58
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=forcedeth driverversion=0.61 ip=192.168.1.36 latency=0 maxlatency=20 mingnt=1 module=forcedeth multicast=yes
*-network DISABLED
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 1
logical name: pan0
serial: e2:5b:42:66:e6:81
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A multicast=yes

kambrik
August 12th, 2009, 01:07 AM
This is a stretch but maybe your nic is hibernating? or it could be going bad.

Iowan
August 12th, 2009, 10:52 PM
Do all the machines connect to the router, or is there a hub/switch behind the router?

fido777
August 13th, 2009, 03:52 AM
Do all the machines connect to the router, or is there a hub/switch behind the router?

All machines plug right into the router. I tried plugging them into different ports on the router, but same story.