PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] /cdrom won't unmount while partitioning and installing ubuntu super OS from hard disk

VACSecured
August 11th, 2009, 10:31 PM
i curently have xubuntu Xfce installed on my computer, and i am trying to swithch to ubuntu super OS using the program unetbootin and installing the ISO right on the hard drive. (i also tried this with mint linux and got the same error) i can get in the instalation menu and partition it, but when it starts to install i get and error that says it cannot unmount /cdrom please close all programs using it and try again. so i am no computer wiz or linux wiz for that matter, i am just getting into linux and i am still trying to learn as much as i can, but from what i do no i have tried to go into the terrminal and using the bash command "umount" mannually unmount /cdrom from the live boot and it says that it is busy, so now i don't know what to do. . i tried it in Xfce before i restart "sudo umount /cdrom &" and it still doesn't work sorry if i seem retarded lol but im still new to all this.

this is the exact error message:
failed to unmount partitions

the installer needs to commit changes to partition tables,
but cannot do so because partitions on the following could
not be unmounted.

/cdrom

please close any applications using these mount points.

would you like the installer to try to unmount these partitions again

go back continue

if anyone could share some insight as to what i am doing wrong it would be greatly appreciated!

running_rabbit07
August 12th, 2009, 03:35 AM