PDA

View Full Version : text editor of choice for python?

bodyharvester
August 11th, 2009, 08:10 PM
i just use gedit at the moment, are there any text editors made with python in mind?

im still a beginner, trying to sort out a ceaser cipher now, i dont mean a text editor which points out my mistakes just one which is more convenient

thanks

cmargolin
August 11th, 2009, 08:15 PM
Try gvim, which has syntax coloring for many languages.

JT9161
August 11th, 2009, 08:16 PM
Make one in Python

BloGTK
I use gedit as well. It's not perfect, but I haven't really found anything that works better for my needs.

RiceMonster
Try gvim, which has syntax coloring for many languages.

If you're going to do that, you may as well learn regular vim (which I prefer).

hessiess
August 11th, 2009, 08:17 PM
Learn Vi, Modal editing is way more effective.

bodyharvester
August 11th, 2009, 08:29 PM
i think ill learn Vi, then make one ;)

EDIT: thanks, y'all

Barrucadu
August 11th, 2009, 08:29 PM
The text editor which you are most comfortable with is the best one.

RiceMonster
August 11th, 2009, 08:30 PM

Before learning vi/vim I suggest typing vimtutor into a terminal and following it through. It'll help get you started.

bodyharvester
August 11th, 2009, 08:36 PM
Before learning vi/vim I suggest typing vimtutor into a terminal and following it through. It'll help get you started.

thanks, i couldnt find vi in the add/remove thing, silly me :p

RiceMonster
August 11th, 2009, 08:40 PM
thanks, i couldnt find vi in the add/remove thing, silly me :p

Vim is pretty much the version of vi used on most Linux distrobutions. I don't think you get the full version on Ubuntu by default, I think it's vim-tiny.

So, to be sure, you can install it:

sudo apt-get install vim

Viva
August 11th, 2009, 08:56 PM
Try geany (apt:geany) or drpython (apt:drpython).

tc3000
August 11th, 2009, 08:59 PM
emacs. ;)

hessiess
August 11th, 2009, 09:05 PM
install vim-full

then run

vim

or

gvim

dwanders