PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Simple Ubuntu/Kubuntu network - help!!

MZ250Supa5
August 11th, 2009, 04:56 AM
I'm trying to set up a simple 'network' connecting two machines together so that I can share an internet connection and share files. A secondary purpose is to learn something about networks.

However, as some others have remarked, most of the 'howtos' suffer from being over complex and unintelligible to the uninitiated. (Tending to contain far too much information for complete beginners.)

I am one such who is getting more and more frustrated at the lack of a simple step-by-step guide to setting up a simple network of two machines. Obviously this is a complex and sometimes complicated business, but everyone has to start from somewhere. Therefore a basic guide of 'first principles' that assumes no previous knowledge would be much appreciated.

Having said the above, I have managed to connect the two machines, as I can 'ping' one from the other, (I haven't worked out how to do this on the machine loaded with Kubuntu as there appears to be no easy way to 'ping' my main, more powerful machine operating Ubuntu).

I'm off to bed now as my mind is now completely boggled.

Tee00
August 11th, 2009, 05:43 AM
If you can ping Kubuntu from Ubuntu with good results, than the machines are communicating and there is no need to ping Ubuntu from Kubuntu. However, if you still want to confirm: open terminal and type ping "ubuntu's ip address". You can always get to terminal with ctrl+alt+F2 (log in with same credentials) and use ctrl+alt+F7 to get back to gui/desktop.

Iowan
August 11th, 2009, 10:38 PM
For connection sharing: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Internet/ConnectionSharing
Easiest *buntu filesharing: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=249889
Samba , SSH, and FTP are other filesharing options - links available if you want to research.

MZ250Supa5
August 13th, 2009, 06:07 AM