PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] wireless showing networks but unable to connect

Phill Traum
August 11th, 2009, 04:14 AM
Hello, i just installed Jaunty onto my hp Dv6500 my wireless card shows as a bcm4311 802.11b/g wlan i'm really new to this and really need help getting my wireless up and running. thanks

RedSingularity
August 11th, 2009, 04:44 AM
So you can see your networks but cannot connect? Are you choosing the correct encryption protocol?

Phill Traum
August 11th, 2009, 09:44 PM
So you can see your networks but cannot connect? Are you choosing the correct encryption protocol?
correct i can see every wireless network in my building but no luck. And being so new at linux i'm not sure about the encryption protocol could you help me find out?
thanks

RedSingularity
August 11th, 2009, 10:05 PM
Well if you can.....look under the router. See if there a WEP key there. This is of course if you are dealing with your own router. If it is a companies or your neighbors then you will need to ask them for the encryption method and pass code.

Phill Traum
August 11th, 2009, 11:46 PM
i have the correct password for my network, i've entered it and it tries to connect but says "Wireless disconnected" after a few seconds.

RedSingularity
August 12th, 2009, 01:22 AM
Do you know if it is WEP or WPA? For example, is the pass code a word or does it look like 18017d3eab? If it is the latter than you have WEP. When the box comes up to enter your code make sure you have WEP under the security area. There are usually two types of security for WEP. Try them both with the pass code you enter and see which one works.

Phill Traum
August 12th, 2009, 02:28 AM
well i put in the password the first time i tried to connect, now it does not prompt me to input anything before attempting and failing.

RedSingularity
August 12th, 2009, 03:04 AM
Right click the network connections icon on the panel and "Edit connections". There you can edit everything you need to.

Phill Traum