PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation problem - Time selection screen

gozzy345
August 11th, 2009, 02:05 AM
First of all, I am new to the Forum, but not entirely new to Linux. And I thought this more appropriate here than in the Absolute Beginner section.
I have installed two other distros on my PC before very successfully while experimenting to find a distro which best suits me (a version of Red Hat, and Mandriva). I have also successfully installed Ubuntu version 9.04 on my friend's laptop. However, when I tried installing (with exactly the same disc,) onto my PC, I couldn't finish the process.
After a very slow start up, which I expected to some extent, as my computer isn't exactly state-of-the-art, I finally got to the graphic installation. I clicked my language off the list, and it took me to the next screen, after a long time (10-20 minutes) of waiting. The next screen asked me to select my time zone. After selecting it off the map, I clicked next, and then the installation stalled. I left it for a long, long time with the 'working' cursor, but it did not move on. After two days, I turned off the computer, and tried again. It again stalled at the same screen. I gave up on the third time of failing.
I also borrowed another disk, in case there was a problem with the one I tried, but exactly the same thing happened. The disc scan thing also said that the disc was fine.
Can anybody help?

snowpine
August 11th, 2009, 02:07 AM
Hi Gozzy, what are the specs of the computer? Make sure that you have enough ram (384mb minimum). Another good idea is to check the CD for errors--you can do this from the menu that first appears when you boot the CD (right after you choose the language).

presence1960
August 11th, 2009, 03:55 AM
alternate text based installer (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/downloadmirrors#alternate) if your cd has no errors!

gozzy345
August 11th, 2009, 05:13 AM