PDA

View Full Version : Local computer services

Dark Aspect
August 11th, 2009, 01:22 AM
Hello

I am thinking about offering some computer services at my college campus such as building computers from parts that the other person has and password recovery. The thing is, I am not sure how much I should charge for my services. I am good with computers but I am not a professional, I would mostly be helping the computer illiterate setup computers and what not.

Since I am not going to be selling the hardware I was thinking some where between $20-$30 to put together a computer - is that to high or low? Password recovery, since its merely a modified ophcrack - $10 or $15, Software Backups $15-$20 and so on.

What are some peoples opinions on these prices? I am trying to come up with creative ways to make money but I have no intention to rip people off. I wanna have fair prices.

I am hurting a lot for money due to the bad economy and unemployment is bad in my area.

cariboo
August 11th, 2009, 01:26 AM
Find out what the rest of the shops on your area are charging for the same services.

Check with your neighbors what they would pay for your services.

Don't undervalue yourself.

gn2
August 11th, 2009, 01:38 AM
Where I am there are a few people who advertise computer fixery on a fixed fee, with a no fix no fee proviso.

chessnerd
August 11th, 2009, 01:53 AM
Compared to computer stores your prices are very cheap. It was going to cost me over $50 to get a hinge replaced on my old laptop and that doesn't include the hardware costs. A hinge for $50!!! You're offering a computer for $30.