PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to C++, help?

KinaU
August 10th, 2009, 07:43 PM
I'll be learning C++ this year and I decided to look into it before the course, so...

http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/program_structure/

Where do I input the code? Is there some program I should use or should I use the text editor?

Please help. I'm beginning to feel stupid. :(

Edit: I tried KDevelop, saved the file to Desktop and opened it, and I'm getting text editor. Therefore I can use text editor as well?

.Maleficus.
August 10th, 2009, 07:48 PM
You can use either. To actually build the program, you need the "build-essential" package though (KDevelop might have it as a dependency, I don't know).

sudo apt-get install build-essential
And then compile from within KDevelop or the terminal.

KinaU
August 10th, 2009, 07:57 PM
You can use either. To actually build the program, you need the "build-essential" package though (KDevelop might have it as a dependency, I don't know).

sudo apt-get install build-essentialAnd then compile from within KDevelop or the terminal.

I got build-essential, but how do I use it? Where is it? :confused:

unknownPoster
August 10th, 2009, 08:03 PM
All of your questions are answered in the stickies:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1006666

gtr32
August 10th, 2009, 08:11 PM
I would recommend to install Code::Blocks:

sudo apt-get install codeblocks

Then create a new project:

File -> New -> Project -> Console application

Build it:

Build -> Build

Run:

Build -> Run

You should now see a console pop up with "Hello World!" output.

KinaU
August 10th, 2009, 08:24 PM
I would recommend to install Code::Blocks:

sudo apt-get install codeblocks

Then create a new project:

File -> New -> Project -> Console application

Build it:

Build -> Build

Run:

Build -> Run

You should now see a console pop up with "Hello World!" output.

This is great, thank you so much! :D

jamescox84
August 10th, 2009, 08:34 PM