PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Synaptic says it's installed, but I don't see it

traynor
August 10th, 2009, 06:02 PM
Hi - I'm brand new to Ubuntu (long time in windows) and am trying to install a specific ftp program. Synaptic says it's installed but I don't see it anywhere in my menus, and it's not available in the list of "add/remove" applications in the menu.

I've seen this for a couple of other programs in the Synaptic installer also. Am I missing a step?

Thanks

raymondh
August 10th, 2009, 07:14 PM
Hi - I'm brand new to Ubuntu (long time in windows) and am trying to install a specific ftp program. Synaptic says it's installed but I don't see it anywhere in my menus, and it's not available in the list of "add/remove" applications in the menu.

I've seen this for a couple of other programs in the Synaptic installer also. Am I missing a step?

Thanks

Try alt + F2 and type in the program name and run. Some programs require that it be ran first. Compiz, I think, is like that.

snowpine
August 10th, 2009, 07:22 PM
Run it from the terminal; if there are any error messages, you will see them...

traynor
August 10th, 2009, 07:38 PM
How do I "run it from the terminal"? (sorry - I'm really a newbie; I'd rather use terminal commands, but I don't know any yet)

Also, would this also explain why I was unable to upgrade to Firefox 3.5 even though I ran the apt:firefox 3-5 command?

thanks for any tips

snowpine
August 10th, 2009, 07:52 PM
Applications->Accessories->Terminal

traynor
August 10th, 2009, 08:39 PM
I know how to access the terminal, but what command do I type?

For example I'm showing the FTP client installed in Synaptic. Do I type "run ftp"? I tried that but it says "command not found"

thanks for helping

Surkow
August 10th, 2009, 08:44 PM
Typing for example the program "firefox" (or any other program name like the ftp client filezilla) in the terminal would be sufficient. They are so called aliases and link to an executable.

snowpine