PDA

View Full Version : Do you have programming dreams?

lovinglinux
August 10th, 2009, 02:46 PM
I'm not a good programmer and sometimes I spend too much time trying to understand the language documentation or to make my code work. For example, I have spent the entire weekend working on some javascript sqlite functions to reduce my dependence on bash scripts.

The thing is that I have dreamed about the code two nights in a row. I don't remember the codes from the dreams and they were probably gibberish, but I have already dreamed about real code solutions in the past.

Do you have the same kind of experience?

Simian Man
August 10th, 2009, 02:51 PM
Yes, sometimes I even talk to my wife about code in my sleep...to her great amusement.

lovinglinux
August 10th, 2009, 02:54 PM
Yes, sometimes I even talk to my wife about code in my sleep...to her great amusement.

Does she talk back with good ideas? :)

dragos240
August 10th, 2009, 02:56 PM
I have done so on many occasions. :D

cmay
August 10th, 2009, 03:33 PM
that is very natural if one is very focused on something. in a learning period the dreams will contain many elements of what one is studying.

last night i was dreaming i read a sun solaris manual for some reason. i did not use sun solaris that much i ought to be dreaming about it though,

phrostbyte
August 10th, 2009, 04:06 PM
Yes, I solve most of harder programming problems I have before sleep.

Rackstar
August 10th, 2009, 04:33 PM
I often wake up with a solution, but I seldomly remember my dreams, but they are quite vivid, I move a lot and talk a lot when I'm sleeping.

And yes, my girlfriend has told me a couple of times, that even when I'm asleep, I'm a nerd to the bone.

nobodysbusiness
August 10th, 2009, 04:49 PM