PDA

View Full Version : TFT screens 17", 19" or 20" .. or 2x 17?

purpleturtle
January 30th, 2006, 09:42 PM
Hi all,

I wonder if anyone has much experience with working with different TFT screen sizes and/or has any strong feelings as which size to go for.

I sit in front of a 17" Dell all day at work, which is fine, but think I want something a bit more special for at home. The 20.1" ones at 1600x1200 appeal, but they are considerately more expensive than the 17"s (in the UK we're talking £450 vs £200 ...) And for that money, I wondered if 2x 17s would be better than a 20.1 ... I've never used a dual headed system before though.. How well does it work?

ember
January 30th, 2006, 09:59 PM
I would go again for 19" - they are not really different from 17" in price and I find them to be more comfortable to the eyes. If you have the money, 2x19" are very cool.

prizrak
January 30th, 2006, 11:01 PM
I'd stay away from 19" since the ones I seen have the same max resolution as a 17" (1280x1024), which I don't find suitable on such a large screen. I'd say get 2x17" but getting dual head with Xorg is VERY difficult (but possible) so you might opt for a 20 or something.

garba
January 30th, 2006, 11:17 PM
go for a 20" and never look back, 1600x1200 is a great resolution for desktop use... just stay away from those 19" displays which come with a native resolution of 1280x1024 pixels leading to a messed up aspect ratio

purpleturtle
February 2nd, 2006, 12:27 AM
Thanks for your inputs. I'd never noticed/realized that 1280x1024 was a aspect ratio of 5/4 rather the usual 4/3. I suppose it doesn't really matter.

poofyhairguy
February 2nd, 2006, 12:34 AM
I'd say get 2x17" but getting dual head with Xorg is VERY difficult (but possible) so you might opt for a 20 or something.

Its not that hard. The Gentoo wiki says how. Plus once you get it to work, dual head is great. Its hard to go back to life without it.

dolson
February 2nd, 2006, 12:46 AM