PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Installation works, but NOT Work after initial update: blank blu screen after login

tomasrey88
August 10th, 2009, 06:50 AM
Hi,

I installed xubuntu 9.04 on my laptop dell latitude cpi d300xt 128 mb ram, 6.5 gb hd, and 300 mhz PII. It worked fine after intial install. However, after the initial update and reboot, it would no longer work. I could get as far as the login screen, but after login all I get is a blank blue screen. What should I do?

I read somewhere that there is a bug in ubuntu that with acpi power management switched on, one would experience logon failure. If so, how do I turn off acpi power management. Please, if I have to tinker in the command line, please let me know exactly what to type in or I will be lost as I am a noob. Thank you.

If acpi power management is not a problem, then what is and what is the fix? Thanks.

Much appreciation,
:P

I've already turned off power management in bios.
I tried to log into failsafe gnome, but was not able to, but it did log me into the terminal. So, what commands do I use to fix it? Thanks.

P4man
August 10th, 2009, 07:26 AM
Minimum requirements for Xubuntu are:

Minimum requirements

* 333 MHz processor
* 192 MB of system memory (RAM)

Dont worry about the cpu speed, but you probably just dont have enough RAM.

With 128Mb, you might want to try puppy linux http://www.puppylinux.org instead. OR even Damn Small Linux (just be prepared for something of a shock lol).

tomasrey88
August 10th, 2009, 01:32 PM
No, it says on the xubuntu website: 1.5 gb hd and 128 mb ram are the minimum. It was working fine until after the update. there is a program/package after the update that caused this.

xubuntu website:
http://www.xubuntu.org/get

I have read the forum and others have got ti running with just 128 mb ram just fine.

Please advise.

Thanks,
:P

P4man
August 10th, 2009, 02:00 PM
hmmm.. okay, well, im no xubuntu expert, but try this: