PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dell Inspiron 1521 with ATI Radeon x1270

tom.swartz07
August 9th, 2009, 11:07 PM
Hi all,

I have a rather simple question.

I have been using Ubuntu for several months now, and am thoroughly enjoying every minute of it. Just recently I was poking around with Blender, which I used to have on my Vista installation. For some reason of another, the window for blender is INCREDIBLY choppy and leaves artifacts all over the screen. Upon further investigation, I searched my X11 xorg.conf file and found that for some strange reason, there is no driver for my ATI card listed. It simply says:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
Device "Configured Video Device"
EndSectionI googled the problem and found that many early builds of Jaunty, 9.04 did not have any support for the ATI cards such as mine.

My question is; does the final version of 9.04 have support for my ATI Mobility Radeon X1270 card? If so, how do I configure xorg to use it?
Ultimately, My goal is to regain use of the s-video port on the back of my computer to attach a secondary monitor. Until I figure out how to add the drivers for the card, no dice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks a ton!

tom.swartz07
August 14th, 2009, 10:43 PM
I really hate to do this, but

bump?

I would like to get my graphics card squared away as soon as possible. Thanks!

tom.swartz07
August 18th, 2009, 12:54 AM
Im not looking for specifics; the only question I would like answered is; "how do I make sure the driver for my video card is installed correctly?"

Once this is done and I am certain that the card is being used, I could regain the use of s-video out.

Thanks all

RedSingularity
August 18th, 2009, 01:01 AM
Have you looked in the System>Admin>Hardware drivers area?

tom.swartz07
August 18th, 2009, 01:07 AM
Yes Sir,