PDA

View Full Version : Help with Building a PC

intense.ego
August 9th, 2009, 05:48 PM
I am a first time builder and am planning to build a PC and I have several problems I need help with.

1. My motherboard is microATX, is there anything wrong with this? Are they worse than normal ATX motherboards?

2. Is there anyway I can see if the parts I am getting are all compatible with each other, or will all hard drives, wireless-G adapters, PSU's, and graphics cards work with virtually any case and motherboard?

3. Will buying the following parts (I know I'm missing a PSU) for a total of 392 british pounds (650 us dollars) be a good deal?

AMD Phenom X4 9650 2.3GHz Socket AM2+ 2MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
Asus M3A76-CM 760G Socket AM2+ onboard VGA DVI 8 channel audio mATX Motherboard
Antec 300 Three Hundred Black Case - No PSU
Samsung EcoGreen F2 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 32MB Cache - OEM
Tenda Wireless-G PCI Adapter
Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 HyperX Memory CL5 2.2V
MSI HD 4870 1GB GDDR5 DVI HDMI VGA Out PCI-E Graphics Card

Thank you in advance
intense.ego

omar8
August 9th, 2009, 06:47 PM
How much is the Phenom X4, if it more than £80 it might not be worth it? it might be worth it to just spend a bit more money and buy a Phenom II X3 (which should give same performance if you spend about £80 but without the power/temperature issues) or X4 as they seem to be much better than the original Phenoms.
Another thing, ATI still haven't got thier act together with drivers in Linux, I expect about a year before the opensource drivers will actually allow the full power of that card to be unleashed - by that time it will be out dated.
So unless you intend on using Windows for games (in which case you should order Windows 7 now as it is much cheaper) I recommend an NVIDIA card.

Skripka
August 9th, 2009, 07:05 PM