PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install Ubuntu server without monitor?

brago
August 9th, 2009, 12:40 PM
Hi,
Tried to search for a similar topic but did not find one, please advice if this already has been discussed!

I've been running Ubuntu servers for a couple of years and are very happy about that. But my server broke down some time ago and I have not come around replacing it until lately. This time I got my hands on a Windows Home Server - ready-to-use system called "Fujitsu Scaleo Home Server 2205". It is pre-installed with Windows Home Server, which I have tried out now for some while. But after testing it for a while, I would love to go back to Ubuntu Server - to be able to be more flexible.

However, here commes my problem: the Scaleo server does not have connectors for a monitor... :-k

So, is it possible to install Ubuntu Server, without having a monitor connected to a computer? I can access the computer via remote desktop into the windows installation. My optimal installation would be to keep WHS and add Ubuntu Server to the server.

Thanks for any advices, also if there are other linux-distributions that could handle this.

Br
Stefan

phillw
August 9th, 2009, 01:03 PM
Hi,
Tried to search for a similar topic but did not find one, please advice if this already has been discussed!

I've been running Ubuntu servers for a couple of years and are very happy about that. But my server broke down some time ago and I have not come around replacing it until lately. This time I got my hands on a Windows Home Server - ready-to-use system called "Fujitsu Scaleo Home Server 2205". It is pre-installed with Windows Home Server, which I have tried out now for some while. But after testing it for a while, I would love to go back to Ubuntu Server - to be able to be more flexible.

However, here commes my problem: the Scaleo server does not have connectors for a monitor... :-k