PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Static address



thep8ntballfreak
August 9th, 2009, 05:46 AM
for some odd reason i cannot get my server to keep a static address
if i type /etc/init.d/networking restart
it will keep the address that i want for about 30 seconds then it goes back to the dhcp address its had since install

ive edited the /etc/network/interfaces file and it seems to do nothing.

any help would be greatly appreciated

SoftwareExplorer
August 9th, 2009, 06:40 AM
Does your server have a GUI(mouse, point and click), or is it all CLI(type commands only)?

Adina
August 9th, 2009, 01:23 PM
please post your /etc/network/interface file.

It could be that the address you are trying to make static is in the dhcp range and/or is being used by an other machine on the network.