PDA

View Full Version : Do you know this command in Bash?

tseliot
January 30th, 2006, 11:05 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie in bash (and in programming in general) and I would like to know how I can replace some words with other ones in a text file without opening it with an editor.

For example I would like to change every "ciao" word in "text.txt" with an "hello" word and then either save the modified file or redirect the output to another file.

Is there a command (in bash) which does this?

Thanks in advance.

Alberto

alamba
January 30th, 2006, 11:11 AM
Yes there is, I believe you can do this using pipes. Its pretty trivial. Unfortunately I'm not good at this. Try google for bash pipes if u're in a hurry or I'm sure someone would be able to give you the exact command here.

Akshay

toojays
January 30th, 2006, 11:13 AM
There is no command built into bash to do this. However, the sed program was designed to do what you want.

To redirect the output to another file, you would run "sed -e 's/ciao/hello/g' input.txt >output.txt"

To save the modified file, you would use a special GNU extension: "sed -ie 's/ciao/hello/g' input.txt"

You can read the complete sed documentation online (http://www.gnu.org/software/sed/manual/sed.html), or in Emacs' info mode, or by running "info sed".

tseliot
January 30th, 2006, 11:35 AM
There is no command built into bash to do this. However, the sed program was designed to do what you want.
...And the books I bought don't mention how to do this.

To redirect the output to another file, you would run "sed -e 's/ciao/hello/g' input.txt >output.txt"

To save the modified file, you would use a special GNU extension: "sed -ie 's/ciao/hello/g' input.txt"

You can read the complete sed documentation online (http://www.gnu.org/software/sed/manual/sed.html), or in Emacs' info mode, or by running "info sed".
Thanks I'll try it

EDIT: it WORKS GREAT! Thanks again now I can develop my little project!

jerome bettis
January 30th, 2006, 09:32 PM