PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to upgrade to firecfox 3.5.2

jeffrey2009
August 8th, 2009, 01:39 AM
I am new to ubuntu and would like to know how to upgrade to firefox 3.5.2. I did a search on this and found some strange ways to install and I was wondering why there is no easy way to upgrade to the latest version. I am pro-linux and was disappointed to find that the upgradxe on windows seemed a lot easier. Am I missing something?

snowpine
August 8th, 2009, 01:57 AM
The instructions only seem `strange` because you are `new to ubuntu.` Just follow the directions step by step, and ask lots of questions if you get confused.

To answer the question behind your question, Ubuntu is designed so that big upgrades are lumped together every six months. This makes testing easier so your system can be super-stable. Firefox 3.5.x will be the default browser for Ubuntu 9.10, which will be released in October. If you can`t wait that long and want FF 3.5 now, you will have to install it yourself, following those strange directions. :)

Here is a great tutorial: http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/firefox

jeffrey2009
August 8th, 2009, 02:53 AM
Thank you for your prompt reply. I am a big advocate of Linux and Ubuntu. I will try the instructions and let you know if you have any questions.

jeffrey2009
August 8th, 2009, 03:04 AM
OK did that but not sure that it was done correctly because I don't seem to be able to run the new version. I tried running the normal firefox from the applications menu but it is still the old version. I also tried to run from the /opt directory but it did not work.

Any ideas?

I still think it is easier just to click on the executable like it is in Windows. I think I should have the choice to upgrade if I wish.

Regards,

Jeffrey

jeffrey2009
August 8th, 2009, 03:11 AM
Actually I got it now. I just haqd to close my open browsers. The video helped as well. Thank you. This is great I am on 3.5.2 now.

Thanks.

snowpine
August 8th, 2009, 03:14 AM