PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Need help with extracting driver from .exe file

BigCityCat
August 8th, 2009, 01:28 AM
I was doing this tutorial on how to set up my wireless by using ndiswrapper to install the firmware and driver, but I am new to linux and some of the instructions are confusing me. Specifically.....

then install the cabextract utility and open up Konsole to navigate the correct directory. Once you have navigated to the directory storing the .exe file, type cabextract filename.exe

from the following article.

http://www.kubuntu.org/doc/7.10/network/C/connect-wifi.html#connect-wifi-ndiswrapper

I just don't understand. Hell I don't even know if I am on the right track but I am trying. I do have cabextract installed but I don't know where the hell it is.

chili555
August 8th, 2009, 01:40 AM
I don't know where the hell it is.You don't have to. What you do need to know is where the .exe is. For example, let's assume it's sitting on your desktop. Open a terminal (Applications -> Accessories -> Terminal) and do:
cd Desktop
cabextract your_file.execabextract works on most, but not all, exe's. If you get stuck, post back.

BigCityCat
August 8th, 2009, 01:54 AM
Ok let me try, hang with me for a sec. Thanks

BigCityCat
August 8th, 2009, 02:01 AM
ok check it out. Thanks

Its amazing how a little syntax can screw a person up.

But I did get it extracted, and I vered off the tutorial a bit because I have ndiswrapper installed so I opened it up and I browsed found the inf file installed it, but honestly I really dont know if I need to do anymore other than blacklisting the cutter firmware. Can you give me anymore advice?

BigCityCat
August 8th, 2009, 02:16 AM
I installed it with ndiswrapper, and it's there but it says unable to detect hardware.

All I can say is knetwork sucks ***. I had it working in ubuntu with fb cutter. I guess I will wait to see if the people from Kubuntu decide to fix it a couple months from now. Till then it's back to windows seven.