PDA

View Full Version : Launchpad.net proprietary?

asv
January 30th, 2006, 07:11 AM
I'm relatively new to Ubuntu, but I noticed that launchpad.net hosts the bug tracking software for Dapper (Malone), among other things.

Is the software that powers launchpad.net open source? I can't seem to find a statement about a license or source download page anywhere.

briancurtin
January 30th, 2006, 07:29 AM
http://toolbar.netcraft.com/site_report?url=http://www.launchpad.net
check that out, it will answer part of your question

asimon
January 30th, 2006, 12:10 PM
Yes, currently Launchpad (Malone, Rosetta, etc.) is neither open source nor free software. Although Ubuntu keep telling us that it "is entirely committed to the principles of free software development; we encourage people to use free and open source software, improve it and pass it on."

So if Ubuntu encourages me to use free and open software does that mean Ubuntu encourages me not to use Malone and Rosetta? ;-)

Havoc
January 30th, 2006, 02:07 PM
Well, I think they plan on making it Free Software.Stallman isn't happy, I can tell you that.:)

Viro
January 30th, 2006, 02:16 PM
No one is in the business of keeping Richard Stallman happy. Most developers are interested in picking a tool that does the job best, regardless of ideology. This includes developers of the Linux kernel, as demonstrated by their choice of BitKeeper for so many years, since nothing comparable in the open source world exists.

xequence
January 30th, 2006, 04:08 PM
Stallman isn't happy, I can tell you that.

Stallman woulden't be happy unless music, software, movies, and then some were under the GPL.

nocturn
January 30th, 2006, 04:12 PM
I'm sorry to see all this Stallman bashing. We have a lot to thank him for.

xequence
January 30th, 2006, 04:15 PM
I'm sorry to see all this Stallman bashing. We have a lot to thank him for.